Tiverton Reckless Driving

As reported by Bryan Rourke in the December 21, 2010 edition of the Providence Journal, a Tiverton man is facing multiple charges from the Bristol Police. He is accused of shoplifting from a local pharmacy. The pharmacy then called the Bristol Police to report the theft. The man had already fled the scene and police pursued him. The man led police on a high speed chase.

The man refused to pull his car off the road. In trying to run from police, he hit three (3) cars and drove on the sidewalk. Police were able to apprehend the man after he hit another vehicle. He is charged with reckless driving, eluding police, felony assault, leave the scene of an accident, shoplifting and other traffic violations.

Pursuant to Rhode Island General Law 31-27-4, reckless driving is defined as any person who operates a motor vehicle recklessly so that the lives or safety of the public might be endangered, or operates a vehicle in an attempt to elude or flee from a traffic officer or police vehicle, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor for the first conviction and a felony for the second and each subsequent conviction.

Eluding police can be a type of reckless driving, but is also a separate crime. Pursuant to R.I.G.L. 31-27-4.1, eluding is defined as any person who in an attempt to elude or flee from a police officer in an emergency police vehicle in a high speed pursuit of the person, operates a motor vehicle at speeds greater than fifteen (15) miles per hour over the speed limit, or who causes property damage only in excess of one thousand dollars ($1,000).

The penalties for eluding police include:

(1) For the first conviction, may be subject to the following sanctions:

(i) Up to one year incarceration at the adult correction institutions (A.C.I.) and a fine of five hundred dollars ($500) but not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000);

(ii) License suspension of not less than ninety (90) days but not more than six (6) months and forfeiture of the motor vehicle.

(2) For a second or subsequent conviction, the person shall:

(i) Be sentenced to two (2) years at the A.C.I., but not more than five (5) years;

(ii) Be fined a fine of two thousand dollars ($2,000) but not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000);

(iii) Receive a license suspension of not less than one year but not more than five (5) years; and

(iv) Forfeit the motor vehicle.

If you or a family member has been charged with reckless driving, driving under the influence "DUI/DWI", OUI, or refusal,get in touch with and attorney to guide you through the legal process. Please contact attorney Robert H. Humphrey, Esq., at 401-816-5862 or e-mail him at

Related Posts
  • Rhode Island DUI Court Process: From Arrest to Sentencing Read More
  • The Science Behind Breathalyzer Tests: Debunking Myths and Misconceptions Read More
  • RHODE ISLAND'S 2019 DUI BOOK Read More