Rhode Island Underage DUI Lawyer
Charged with an underage DUI?
The legal drinking age in Rhode Island is twenty-one (21) years old. However, the legal driving age is sixteen (16) years old. Rhode Island law allows for the punishment of drunk driving at any age. Drivers who are under twenty one (21) years old face harsh penalties and are subject to an extremely low BAC limit.
Driving While Impaired
Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws 31-27-2.7, driving while impaired applies to drivers over the age of eighteen (18) and under the age of twenty-one (21). For those drivers, the legal BAC limit is .02 rather than the limit of .08 for drivers who are legally allowed to drink. The penalties for driving while impaired include:
- Up to $250.00 in fines
- Thirty (30) hours of community service
- One (1) to three (3) months loss of license
- DUI school
Charged with DUI and a Minor?
For drivers under the age of eighteen (18) charged with drunk driving, their case will be before the Family Court.
- Ten (10) to sixty (60) hours community service;
- Six (6) to eighteen (18) months loss of license;
- Participation in DUI School or alcohol counseling; and
- Up to one (1) year imprisonment at the Training School;
- Up to $500.00 fine;
- Mandatory Suspension of license until age twenty (21).
Call a Rhode Island DUI attorney for help!
With over twenty-eight (28) years of legal experience fighting DUI charges, Attorney Humphrey and his dedicated legal team know how to defend your rights against all types of DUI charges. Attorney Robert H. Humphrey has gained a reputation throughout Rhode Island for his effective work in fighting DUI charges on the behalf of youthful drivers. Mr. Humphrey has also been recognized as the DUI Defense Lawyers Association's State Ambassador for Rhode Island.
To fight your DUI charges, contact a Rhode Island DUI attorney today!
"Thank you for the wonderful way you handled my Westerly DUI case. I was very scared when I was charged with a DUI with readings over .15. However, I knew you were the right man for the job when you picked up the phone on a Sunday and put my mind at ease. Thank you so much for everything you did for me!"
We’ll Evaluate Your Case for Free
Let us explain your options. We offer initial consultations at no charge to you. Call (401) 441-5486 or email us today.