Rhode Island Drugs & DUI
Rhode Island DUI Lawyer
Drinking and driving is not per se illegal under Rhode Island law. Any motorist with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or greater is legally intoxicated. It can be more difficult to prove a drunk driving charge if a motorist has a BAC reading below .08 (the legal limit). However, the law does not make a distinction for drug use. If driving with any detectable amount of drugs, a motorist can be arrested and charged with drunk driving.
Breath tests are the best means of testing a motorist's alcohol content. Blood tests are the best means of testing for the presence of drugs in a motorist. Blood tests are administered at hospitals by medical personnel under the direction of the police. Blood samples are taken and then sent to a laboratory for analysis.
Have you been charged with DUI-Drugs?
In addition to DUI, a motorist could face additional penalties if drugs are found in their possession while they are operating a motor vehicle. Additional charges include possession of a controlled substance and driving while in possession of a controlled substance.
Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws 21-28-4.01(c), the penalties for possession of a controlled classified in schedules I, II and III, IV, and V, except the substance classified as marijuana, is guilty of a crime and upon conviction may be imprisoned for not more than three (3) years or fined not less than five hundred dollars ($500) nor more than five thousand dollars ($5,000), or both. Possession of a controlled substance classified in schedule I as marijuana is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction may be imprisoned for not more than one year or fined not less than two hundred dollars ($200) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500), or both.
Pursuant to R.I.G.L. 31-27-2.4, whoever operates any motor vehicle while knowingly having in the motor vehicle or in his or her possession, a controlled substance, as defined in § 21-28-1.02, shall have his or her license suspended for a period of six (6) months.
Get the help of a Rhode Island DUI-Drug attorney!
DUI Attorney Robert Humphrey has over twenty-eight (28) years' experience helping clients maintain their freedom and liberty after a charge for DUI involving drugs in Rhode Island. Whether this is a first criminal charge or a subsequent offense, having a skilled and highly knowledgeable lawyer on your side is crucial!
Contact a Rhode Island DUI attorney immediately if you have questions about a DUI - Drugs case. There is no charge for the initial consultation.
"Thank you for the wonderful way you handled my Westerly DUI case. I was very scared when I was charged with a DUI with readings over .15. However, I knew you were the right man for the job when you picked up the phone on a Sunday and put my mind at ease. Thank you so much for everything you did for me!"
We’ll Evaluate Your Case for Free
Let us explain your options. We offer initial consultations at no charge to you. Call (401) 441-5486 or email us today.