As reported by Carol Kozma in the May 3, 2016 edition of the Providence Journal, a Cumberland woman has been arrested and charged in connection with a hit and run. Earlier this week, a Cumberland man was hit while walking on a road. The man was seriously injured and is currently at Rhode Island Hospital. The woman turned herself in and has been arraigned. She was formally charged with leaving the scene of an accident resulting in serious bodily injury commonly referred to as “hit and run.”
Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws 31-26-1, the driver of any vehicle knowingly involved in an accident resulting in injury to, serious bodily injury to, or death of any person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close to it as possible, but shall then immediately return to and in every event shall remain at the scene of the accident. A stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.
The penalties for leaving the scene of an accident resulting in serious bodily injury include imprisonment for not less than one year and for not more than ten (10) years and by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000), nor more than five thousand dollars ($5,000). The sentencing judge shall have the discretion to sentence the person to any unit of the adult correctional institutions. Additionally, the license of the person shall be revoked for a period of up to two (2) years.
"Serious bodily injury" is defined to mean physical injury that creates a substantial risk of death or causes serious physical disfigurement or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ. The man’s injuries are to his head and are reported to be serious.
If you or a family member have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident, drunk driving or any driving offenses, please contact Robert H. Humphrey, Esq., at (401) 816-5862 or e-mail him at firstname.lastname@example.org.