Man With Gun Arrested at High School

As reported by Donita Naylor in the October 31, 2014 edition of the Providence Journal, a Mississippi man was arrested near Johnston High School and charged with possession of a firearm on school guns, possession of a firearm without a license and disorderly conduct . The man is currently being evaluated for a mental competency hearing next week.

Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws 11-47-60 possession of a firearm on school grounds is defined as no person shall have in his or her possession any firearm or other weapons on school grounds.

For the purposes of this section, "school grounds" means the property of a public or private elementary or secondary school or in those portions of any building, stadium, or other structure on school grounds which were, at the time of the violation, being used for an activity sponsored by or through a school in this state or while riding school provided transportation.

The penalties if convicted include imprisonment for not less than one year nor more than five (5) years, or shall be fined not less than five hundred dollars ($500) nor more than five thousand dollars ($5,000).

Any juvenile adjudicated delinquent pursuant to this statute shall, in addition to whatever other penalties are imposed by the family court, lose his or her license to operate a motor vehicle for up to six (6) months. If the juvenile has not yet obtained the necessary age to obtain a license, the court may impose as part of its sentence a delay in his or her right to obtain the license when eligible to do so, for a period of up to six (6) months.

Pursuant to R.I.G.L. 11-47-8, no person shall, without a license or permit issued as provided in §§ 11-47-11, 11-47-12 and 11-47-18, carry a pistol or revolver in any vehicle or conveyance or on or about his or her person whether visible or concealed, except in his or her dwelling house or place of business or on land possessed by him or her or as provided in §§ 11-47-9 and 11-47-10.

The penalties for possessing a firearm without a license include imprisonment for not less than one nor more than ten (10) years, or by a fine up to ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or both, and except for a first conviction under this section shall not be afforded the provisions of suspension or deferment of sentence, nor a probation.

If you or a family member has been charged with possession of a firearm or other weapon offenses, please allow Attorney Robert H. Humphrey's reputation, experience and skill to successfully guide you through the legal process. Please contact Attorney Robert H. Humphrey, Esq., at 401-816-5862 or e-mail him at

Related Posts
  • Providence Police Officer Arrested Again Read More
  • Woman Attacks Replacement Read More
  • URI Students Arrested After Super Bowl Read More