As reported by Maria Armental in the January 2, 2013 edition of the Providence Journal, the Rhode Island State Police made seven (7) drunk driving arrests on New Year's Eve. Three (3) motorists were also charged with refusal to submit to a chemical test. Three (3) others did submit to the test and had readings ranging from .138 to .195. The legal limit is .08. One (1) motorist was involved in an accident and was also cited for failure to stop at an accident.
Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws 31-27-2.1, refusal to submit to a chemical test (or breathalyzer) is defined as any person who operates a motor vehicle within this state shall be deemed to have given his or her consent to chemical tests of his or her breath, blood, and/or urine for the purpose of determining the chemical content of his or her body fluids or breath. No more than two (2) complete tests, one for the presence of intoxicating liquor and one for the presence of toluene or any controlled substance, as defined in § 21-28-1.02(7), shall be administered at the direction of a law enforcement officer having reasonable grounds to believe the person to have been driving a motor vehicle within this state while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, toluene, or any controlled substance, as defined in chapter 28 of title 21, or any combination of these. The director of the department of health is empowered to make and file with the secretary of state, regulations which prescribe the techniques and methods of chemical analysis of the person's body fluids or breath and the qualifications and certification of individuals authorized to administer the testing and analysis.
The penalties for a first offense Refusal include a fine in the amount of two hundred dollars ($200) to five hundred dollars ($500) and ten (10) to sixty (60) hours of public community restitution. The person's driving license in this state shall be suspended for a period of six (6) months to one year. The traffic tribunal judge shall require attendance at a special course on driving while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance and/or alcohol or drug treatment for the individual.
Pursuant to R.I.G.L. 31-27-2, drunk driving or DUI is defined as whoever drives or otherwise operates any vehicle in the state while under the influence of any intoxicating liquor, drugs, toluene, or any controlled substance as defined in chapter 28 of title 21, or any combination of these, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor except as provided in subdivision (d)(3) and shall be punished as provided in subsection (d) of this section.
The penalties if convicted of drunk driving with unknown BAC readings include a fine of not less than one hundred ($100) dollars nor more than four hundred dollars ($400) and performance of ten (10) to sixty (60) hours of public community restitution and/or shall be imprisoned for up to one year. The sentence may be served in any unit of the adult correctional institutions in the discretion of the sentencing judge. The person's driving license shall be suspended for a period of three (3) months to twelve (12) months. The sentencing judge shall require attendance at a special course on driving while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance and/or alcoholic or drug treatment for the individual.
If you or a family member has been charged with drunk driving, refusal to submit to a chemical test or other DUI offenses, please allow Attorney Robert H. Humphrey's reputation, experience and skill to successfully guide you through the legal process. Please contact Attorney Robert H. Humphrey, Esq., at 401-816-5862 or e-mail him at firstname.lastname@example.org.