As reported by Maria Armental in the October 20, 2011 edition of the Providence Journal, a Lincoln woman has pled guilty to refusal to submit to a chemical test. The charges of refusal and DUI-serious injury resulting occurred in April of 2011. The woman was arrested by the Warwick Police Department following a serious head-on collision. Five (5) passengers in the other motor vehicle were seriously injured and required hospitalization.
Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws 31-27-2.1, refusal to submit to a chemical test is defined as: any person who operates a motor vehicle within this state shall be deemed to have given his or her consent to chemical tests of his or her breath, blood, and/or urine for the purpose of determining the chemical content of his or her body fluids or breath. No more than two (2) complete tests, one for the presence of intoxicating liquor and one for the presence of toluene or any controlled substance, as defined in § 21-28-1.02(7), shall be administered at the direction of a law enforcement officer having reasonable grounds to believe the person to have been driving a motor vehicle within this state while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, toluene, or any controlled substance, as defined in chapter 28 of title 21, or any combination of these. The director of the department of health is empowered to make and file with the secretary of state, regulations which prescribe the techniques and methods of chemical analysis of the person's body fluids or breath and the qualifications and certification of individuals authorized to administer the testing and analysis.
The penalties for first offense refusal include a fine in the amount of two hundred dollars ($200) to five hundred dollars ($500) and shall order the person to perform ten (10) to sixty (60) hours of public community restitution. The person's driving license in this state shall be suspended for a period of six (6) months to one year. The traffic tribunal judge shall require attendance at a special course on driving while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance and/or alcohol or drug treatment for the individual.
The more serious charges against the woman are still pending in Superior Court. She was charged with five (5) counts of DUI-serious injury resulting, five (5) counts of reckless operation – serious injury resulting, and (1) one count of reckless operation – injury resulting.
Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws 31-27-2.6 defines drunk driving – serious injury resulting as when serious bodily injury of any person other than the operator is caused by the operation of any motor vehicle, the operator of which is under the influence of any intoxicating liquor, toluene, or any controlled substance as defined in chapter 28 of title 21 or any combination of these, the person so operating the vehicle shall be guilty of driving under the influence of liquor or drugs, resulting in serious bodily injury. As used in this section, "serious bodily injury" means physical injury that creates a substantial risk of death or causes serious physical disfigurement or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ.
The penalties include:
Any person charged with the commission of the offense set forth in subsection (a) of this section shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment for not less than one year and for not more than ten (10) years and by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than five thousand dollars ($5,000). The sentencing judge shall have the discretion to sentence the person to any unit of the adult correctional institutions. The license of the person may be revoked for a period of up to two (2) years. The license privilege shall not be reinstated until evidence satisfactory to the administrator of the division of motor vehicles establishes that no grounds exist which would authorize refusal to issue a license and until the person gives proof of financial responsibility pursuant to chapter 32 of this title. In addition, the person convicted may be required to successfully complete alcohol or drug treatment, at their own expense, in a program established by the director of the department of corrections.
If you or a family member has been charged with drunk driving – death resulting, drunk driving – serious injury resulting or drunk driving (DUI) please allow Attorney Robert H. Humphrey's reputation, experience and skill to successfully guide you through the legal process. Please contact Attorney Robert H. Humphrey, Esq., at 401-816-5862 or e-mail him at firstname.lastname@example.org.