Law Offices of Robert H. Humphrey
Call us today at 401-816-5862
Rhode Island Criminal Defense and Personal Injury Lawyer Attorney Profile Testimonials Contact Us
DUI Defense Attorney - click here to find out more. Criminal Defense Attorney - click here to find out more. Personal Injury Attorney - click here to find out more.
Criminal Defense
Alcohol Offenses
Domestic Assault & Battery
Domestic Violence
Drug Charges
DUI
Expungements
FAQ
Felonies & Misdemeanors
Hit and Run
Probation Violations
Theft Crimes
Sex Crimes
Veteran's Diversion
Other Criminal Offenses
DUI
Breath Tests
DUI in Rhode Island
Drugs & DUI
Field Sobriety Tests
First Offense DUI
Multiple DUI
Other Alcohol Offenses
Out-of-State DUI/DWI/OUI
Refusal of Chemical Tests
Serious Bodily Injury / Death
Subsequent Offenses
Underage DUI
DUI Articles
National College for DUI Defense
DUI Defense Lawyers Association
Personal Injury
Burn Injuries
Bus Accidents
Car Accidents
Distracted Driving Accidents
Drunk Driving Accidents
Hit & Run Accidents
Passenger Rights
Rear-End Accidents
Uninsured Motorist Accidents
Medical Malpractice
Motorcycle Accidents
Premises Liability
Slip and Fall
Products Liability
Truck Accidents
Types of Injuries
Children's Injuries
Catastrophic Injuries
Traumatic Brain Injuries
Wrongful Death
Speaking with the At-Fault Insurance Company
Areas We Serve
Tiverton
Warwick
Coventry
Providence
Barrington
Bristol
Middletown
Narragansett
Newport
North Kingstown
Portsmouth
South Kingstown
Tiverton
Warwick
URI
NAME:
EMAIL:
PHONE:
MESSAGE:

Like us on FaceBookCheck out our profile on Linked In.

8 Neck Road Tiverton, Rhode Island 02878

North Smithfield DUI Amended to Reckless Driving

In July of 2011, our Client was stopped by the North Smithfield Police Department. The North Smithfield Police stopped our Client based on a tip from another driver that he was driving erratically. Following the stop, our Client was arrested for drunk driving (DUI) and he submitted to the chemical test at the station.

Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws 31-27-2, drunk driving is defined as whoever drives or otherwise operates any vehicle in the state while under the influence of any intoxicating liquor, drugs, toluene, or any controlled substance as defined in chapter 28 of title 21, or any combination of these, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor except as provided in subdivision (d)(3) and shall be punished as provided in subsection (d) of this section.

If convicted of drunk driving, our Client faced these penalties:

(d) Every person found to have violated subdivision (b)(1) of this section shall be sentenced as follows: for a first violation whose blood alcohol concentration is eight one-hundredths of one percent (.08%) but less than one-tenth of one percent (.1%) by weight or who has a blood presence of any scheduled controlled substance as defined in subdivision (b)(2) shall be subject to a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than three hundred dollars ($300), shall be required to perform ten (10) to sixty (60) hours of public community restitution, and/or shall be imprisoned for up to one year. The sentence may be served in any unit of the adult correctional institutions in the discretion of the sentencing judge and/or shall be required to attend a special course on driving while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance, and his or her driver's license shall be suspended for thirty (30) days up to one hundred eighty (180) days.

(ii) Every person convicted of a first violation whose blood alcohol concentration is one-tenth of one percent (.1%) by weight or above but less than fifteen hundredths of one percent (.15%) or whose blood alcohol concentration is unknown shall be subject to a fine of not less than one hundred ($100) dollars nor more than four hundred dollars ($400) and shall be required to perform ten (10) to sixty (60) hours of public community restitution and/or shall be imprisoned for up to one year. The sentence may be served in any unit of the adult correctional institutions in the discretion of the sentencing judge. The person's driving license shall be suspended for a period of three (3) months to twelve (12) months. The sentencing judge shall require attendance at a special course on driving while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance and/or alcoholic or drug treatment for the individual.

(iii) Every person convicted of a first offense whose blood alcohol concentration is fifteen hundredths of one percent (.15%) or above, or who is under the influence of a drug, toluene, or any controlled substance as defined in subdivision (b)(1) shall be subject to a fine of five hundred dollars ($500) and shall be required to perform twenty (20) to sixty (60) hours of public community restitution and/or shall be imprisoned for up to one year. The sentence may be served in any unit of the adult correctional institutions in the discretion of the sentencing judge. The person's driving license shall be suspended for a period of three (3) months to eighteen (18) months. The sentencing judge shall require attendance at a special course on driving while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance and/or alcohol or drug treatment for the individual.

Instead, due to legal issues that Attorney Humphrey raised in the case, the charge was amended to reckless driving. Pursuant to R.I.G.L. 31-27-4, reckless driving is defined as, any person who operates a motor vehicle recklessly so that the lives or safety of the public might be endangered, or operates a vehicle in an attempt to elude or flee from a traffic officer or police vehicle, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor for the first conviction and a felony for the second and each subsequent conviction.

Reckless driving does not have mandated penalties. Instead our client received a one (1) year filing, which is not a criminal conviction and only a thirty (30) day loss of license. As part of the filing, our client must keep the peace and be of good behavior for one (1) year. After the one (1) year period, our client is eligible to have the records of the case expunged.

If your or a family member have been charged with drunk driving, reckless driving or refusal to submit to a chemical test, please allow attorney Robert H. Humphrey's reputation, experience and skill to successfully guide you through the legal process. Contact Robert H. Humphrey, Esq., at 401-816-5862 or e-mail him at rhh@rhumphreylaw.com.

Click to call Law Blog